Workshops

Workshops

To stay up to date with virtual and in-person workshops, sign up here.

Please reach out to inquire about private, group, or workshops at your institution. I am always happy to discuss possibilities.

Plein Air Painting in New Orleans City Park (in person)
Dates: Saturdays, April 9th and 16th
Times: 1:00pm - 4:30pm CST
Cost: $200
Medium: Oil or acrylic

Come out to beautiful City Park to learn the fundamentals of plein air painting. During this 2-session workshop, students will get comfortable painting observationally on-site, outdoors. We will start each class with a demonstration. Students will learn how to select compositions, consolidate complex visual information, differentiate planes of space through variations in color and value, and how to set up for success. This class is great for any experience level with painting outdoors including beginners, but students should have some prior experience working with acrylic or oil paint. We will meet onsite and makeup rain contingency days will be the following Sunday. Material lists will be sent out a week before class. Please make sure the email address associated with your PayPal is one that can be used to communicate with you. If it is not, just let me know. Register Here

Fearless Landscapes: Using Reference Photos as a Springboard for Expressive Painting (Online)
Date: Mondays, May 9 & 16, 2022
Time: 10:30 AM-1:00PM Pacific Time (12:30-3:00 PM Central Time, 1:30-4:00 PM Eastern Time/6:30-9:00PM London Time)
Level: All
Medium: Oil or acrylics
Cost: $160

In this two-week workshop, students will learn how to use (not abuse!) reference photos as a starting place for bold, dynamic paintings. We will focus on composition, massing, simplification, and underpainting to make paintings that are confident, wild, and free. This class is open to acrylic and/or oil painters. All levels are welcome. While we will be doing some short exercises in class, the majority of student work will be done between class sessions.

Beginning Bold for Large Scale Landscape Paintings (Online with Winslow Art Center)
Date: Friday, May 27, 2022
Time: 4:00-5:30pm Central Time/2:00-3:30PM Pacific Time/5:00-6:30 PM Eastern Time/10:00-11:30 PM London Time
Medium: Oil or acrylic
Cost: $40.00

This is a Technique Takeaway with Winslow Art Center; a one-time, 1.5-hour demonstration-based online workshop.
The first marks and the way we block in often do a lot for how a painting progresses. Using a small photo, sketch, or painting as a reference, Ben Hamburger will demonstrate how to begin and get going on a large canvas. There will be an emphasis on underpainting, composition, value, and mark-making with confidence.




Some Words from Students:

Ben Hamburger is a uniquely gifted artist and teacher. He clearly and concisely explains key concepts and techniques and then provides illustrative demonstrations at the beginning of each class. More importantly, throughout a painting session, he provides insightful direction that helps the student artist to see what is “off” and what should be a next step. He listens carefully to ALL and is a patient and kind instructor who provides a supportive learning environment to every student! Humble and down-to-earth, Ben always arrives at class well-prepared and eager to help.
- Shelly D., Alla Prima Painting, Acrylic Underpainting, and Expressive Landscape Painting Student

What a wonderful teacher and artist Ben is!  He is extremely generous with his talent, bringing out the best of each student's own strengths as we learn and paint with him. His courses are well planned--hands-on, enjoyable, and no wasted time.  In class, we talk about the topic du jour, generally with a brief demo, and then we plunge into our own work as he circulates, giving individual attention.  In the classes that I have had with him, each student has been delighted with his / her development. I am a better painter thanks to working with Ben Hamburger.
-Suzan C., Plein Air Painting and Alla Prima Painting student

If you want to pick up painting tricks of the trade, take one of the many methods classes. If you want to become a more confident and proficient painter true to your own style, take classes with Ben Hamburger. He has that special gift that has students of all ages and levels returning to study with him for a long time.
-Howard S., Plein Air Painting, and Alla Prima Painting

Ben is an excellent instructor.  His demonstrations of technique at the start of each class really allowed me to learn a lot in a short time.  He not only shows the technique, but he talks through it in real time to explain what he's doing.  He does a great job giving individual advice, and his feedback is clear and straightforward.  On top of all that, he's a super nice person!  Highly recommended!
-Julie W., Alla Prima Painting Student